State Games of America

The State Games of America is an Olympic-style event featuring competition between State Games medal winners (gold, silver, bronze) from across the nation. There are currently 29 states conducting or organizing statewide sports festivals known as State Games. The event is held every two years on the odd year (i.e. 2015, 2017, etc.)

State games of michigan
qualifying sports at the state games of america:

5k Run, Archery 3D, Archery FITA, Baseball, Basketball, Bowling, Disc Golf, Figure Skating, Ice Hockey, Judo, Lacrosse, Paintball, Pickleball, Rugby, Shooting Sports (SBR), Shooting Sports (Clays), Skateboard, Soccer, Softball, Swimming (Youth), Swimming (Adult), Tae Kwon Do, Tennis (Youth), Tennis (Adult), Track & Field, Volleyball, Weightlifting, Wrestling

A complete list of all SGA sporting events can be found here.

2019 State Games of America 


The 2019 State Games of America will be held at Liberty University in Lynchburg, Virginia from July 31st - August 4th. The 2019 State Games of America is expected to attract 14,000 competitors. Visit the State Games of America for more details.


state games of america Host Cities:

St. Louis, MO, 1999 (15 Sports)

St. Louis, MO, 2001 (15 Sports)

Hartford, CT, 2003 (15 Sports)

Colorado Springs, CO, 2005 (24 Sports)

Colorado Springs, CO, 2007 (29 Sports)

Colorado Springs, CO, 2009 (31 Sports)

San Diego, CA, 2011 (24 Sports)

Hershey/Harrisburg, PA, 2013 (29 Sports)

Lincoln, NE, 2015 (60+ Sports)

Grand Rapids, MI, 2017 (50+ Sports)

Lynchburg, VA, 2019

Ames, IA, 2021

National Congress of State Games

The National Congress of State Games (NCSG) is a membership organization comprised of 30 Summer State Games and 10 Winter State Games organizations and a member of the United States Olympic Committee's Multi Sport Organizational Council.  The mission of the NCSG is to support State Games member organizations in the promotion of health, fitness and character building through multi-sport competitions and physical activities. The NCSG was created in 1986, to serve as the official association of the State Games Organizations.